Prev     Next  


divided into four coloured sections by the author of the presentation

1. KaddeshThe blessingvDeq;
2. UrechatzThe washing of hands#h;r.W
3. KarpasThe eating of the parsley (having dipped it in the salt water)sP;r.K;
4. YachatzThe breaking of the middle matzah to have afikoman#x;y:
5. MaggidThe Telling the story of the Exodus from EgyptdyGIm;
6. RachtzahThe second washing of the hands#x;r;
7. Motzi and MatzahThe two blessings over the matzahhc'm; ayciAm
8. MarorThe eating of the bitter herb (having dipped it in the salt water)rArm'
9. KorekhEating of sandwich made with matzah bitter herb and charoset%reAK
10. Shulchan OrekhThe eating of the festive meal%reA[ !x'
11. TzafunThe eating of the afikoman.!Wpc'
12. BarekhThe thanksgiving for the food; prayers for Elijah and Messiah%reB'
13. HallelThe recitation of the second part of Hallel lLeh;
14. Nirtzah The final singinghc'r.nI

Remark: the following changes are introduced to the original text of the edition of 1927 year to show the logic of this division:

Originally the above 14–part schema of the Passover seder has not been divided into the four sections corresponding to the four cups constituting this structure. Although it is not an easy task, but it is a feasible and necessary one to understand the primary rite of the Passover.

   Prev     Next  

[1]  Cf. xsp lv hdgh Hagada. Opowiadania o wyjściu Izraelitów z Egiptu na pierwsze dwa wieczory święta Pesach. M. Zalcman Bookshop's Publisher, Vienna 1927, 5. “Haggadah” is available now in the “Bibliofilska Edycja Reprintów” as the reprint made from the copy of a private collection in the printing enterprise Interdruck GmbH in Leipzig, Warszawa 1991.
There exists also the seder composed of 15 parts, which differs from the above one only in this, that the part 7. (hc'm; ayciAm) is divided into two parts: 7. (ayciAm) and 8. (hc'm;).